News Releases

View All Articles

08-09-2012- Outstanding Service Award presented to Squaw's Andy Wirth

Squaw Valley President & CEO Andy Wirth received the honor of the Chairman’s Outstanding Service Award from former Airport Board Chair John Wagnon at today’s Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority Board of Trustees Meeting.

John Wagnon, Vice President of Sales and Resort Marketing for Vail Resorts Inc., and past Chair of the Airport Board, 2011-2012, selected Andy Wirth to receive this distinguished award for Wirth’s ability to understand not only the ski market, but also the important role air service plays in sustaining the ski industry.

“Since arriving at Squaw, Andy has demonstrated a true passion and understanding of air service initiatives and has offered his assistance in air service business development,” said Wagnon.

In addition, Wirth has showed his continued support for the aviation industry through building relationships with the airlines; leading the charge to bring in ski charters from the United Kingdom, the number one international ski market; and addressing the Southwest Chapter of the American Association of Airport Executives in 2011, as a keynote speaker.

Wirth had this to say about the Outstanding Service Award: "When I arrived in the region and contacted the airport, it was immediately clear that this was a highly professional and effectively run airport. It has been my pleasure to offer my air service background to partner with the region and to work with the great leadership here among the airport board and staff.”

“Andy is a great champion of the Reno-Tahoe International Airport,” stated Wagnon. “He exemplifies the kind of support we need in air service development to continue to grow this economy and is most deserving of this service award.”

"I am truly honored to receive this award from not only a competitor at Heavenly, but someone who is also a friend," replied Wirth.

It is customary for the outgoing Airport Board Chairman to recognize a community leader with an Outstanding Service Award. Past recipients include The Reviglio Family (2011), the University of Nevada (2010) and Senator John Ensign (2009).

Customer Feedback